@transparency please, and – transparency and accountability, please? (pretty please?)

@ transparency please –

You quoted Ms. Gaona Mendoza saying: “news that we were longing for and it finally happened.”..
“Hopefully the next super is not afraid to talk to the principals and let them know when they are failing our kids and improve our counseling system and special education for Latino students,” (link #1)

You also noted  –  “Can’t CUT THE MIKE now! best. quote. ever.”    (link #1)

Let me add another quote of Ms. Gaona-Mendoza:
““This is the way they work. If they do not talk about it, maybe people will think that the problem does not exist.”

Ms. Gaona Mendoza posted the above, responding to my open letter after the Oct 8th PAUSD board meeting. I posted my letter also on PA online, in the hopes that Ms. Gaona Mendoza will see it (link #2).
I took the liberty to use this quote as the title of my blog post. I listed my take on the quote, which was samples of  “this is the way they work”. (link #3).

I still think that independent investigation is needed.  Many called for that investigation after the first OCR case became public knowledge. I doubt that the infrastructure that enabled all the currently known wrongs is fully understood. I doubt all wrongs are public knowledge. As far as I recall, PAUSD’s secret board meetings that were set to check the feasibility of challenging the OCR’s jurisdiction became public knowledge coincidentally. As far as I recall, lawyers were called (and presumably paid) for that purpose.
I doubt issues can be addressed, and strongly doubt they can be corrected, before they are properly identified.

.

Link #1 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/square/2014/02/18/palo-alto-superintendent-kevin-skelly-to-resign-june-30#comment_form

Link #2 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/square/2013/10/13/open-address-to-ms-mendoza-the-lady-who-brought-the-office-of-civil-rights-ocr-to-pausd-and-few-related-thoughts-.

Link #3 – https://villagefoolopenboard.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/this-is-the-way-they-work-if-they-do-not-talk-about-it-maybe-people-will-think-that-the-problem-does-not-exist-ms-mendoza-101913-here-is-my-take/

Leave a Reply

