Lesson plans & Mirrors… ‘rehashing’.

On Jun 28 the PA Weekly published a great editorial  titled “Accountability not in lesson plan” (link #1).  After I watched Ms. Mendoza  addressing the board on Oct 8th (link #2), I felt compelled to try to express my support, thus my open letter (link #3). I was especially appalled by the contradiction between the beginning of the meeting – celebrating unity, condemning bullying etc and the way the board reacted to her (link #2). I felt that I had to try to express my admiration, respect, gratitude and shame.

I think that the title of the editorial relates nicely to the reasons that had me write the letter to Ms. Mendoza.

On Jul 12 the Weekly published an article  titled “In secret, school board weighs not cooperating with federal agency”. (link #4).  I commented there that “… More than 3 months ago I called to form a Shadow PAUSD board, a very unusual suggestion. I could not foresee, then, the occurrences that presented themselves afterwords. Past events that happened prior to the info about the (first) OCR settlement had me estimate that independent investigation was not about to happen. I’ll just mention now the CF carrier (that went the court way and national media way) and math teachers letter that was kept in the dark.”

These occurrences just  reinforced my perspective, my understanding of the patterns/modus operandi.

On July 24Th  I had the following correspondence with Hmmm (link #5):

Posted by Hmmm, a resident of East Palo Alto
.
on Jul 24, 2013 at 4:18 pm
[Post removed.]
Posted by village fool, a resident of another community
on Jul 24, 2013 at 4:59 pm

@Hmmm – maybe, hopefully, the past few months had very few realize that the “other” can be closer than perceived before. Maybe the past few months had very few realize that the attitude towards the “other” from the other side of the highway is a crisp reflection of the attitude to any “other” from “this side of the highway”.

.

Posted by Hmmm, a resident of East Palo Alto
on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Good points, Village Fool. I guess my comments will keep getting deleted. Let’s see how long it takes for the “mirror” to break by deleting my comments. Dog forbid Palo Alto not make something about themselves.

The above correspondence, among others,  had me address Hmmm here (link #6)

By the end of the day – it is about an education system. It seems to me that celebrating unity cannot coincide with the response to Ms. Mendoza  on the Oct 8th board meeting, and holding children accountable (having consequences) cannot coincide with the lack of accountability so nicely described in the PA Weekly’s editorial.

.

Link #1 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/news/2013/06/28/editorial-accountability-not-in-lesson-plan Weekly editorial titled – “Accountability not in lesson plan”

Link #2 – http://www.midpenmedia.org/watch/pausd_webcast/October/PAUSD_100813.html Board recording. Ms. Mendoza’: 1:46 hours. Celebrating unity @0:00 hours.

Link #3 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/square/2013/10/13/open-address-to-ms-mendoza-the-lady-who-brought-the-office-of-civil-rights-ocr-to-pausd-and-few-related-thoughts-

Link #4 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/square/2013/07/12/in-secret-school-board-weighs-not-cooperating-with-federal-agency

Link #5 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/news/2013/07/24/civil-rights-lawyers-scrutinize-school-district

Link #6 –  https://villagefoolopenboard.wordpress.com/hmmms-open-space/

Leave a Reply

