“… never do harm to anyone…” – Hypocrites, and – @Edmund Burke, Here are my suggested Bullying Polices and best practices (two for the price of one).

@Edmund Burke -
Thank you, again, for the  incredible analysis of the various versions and updates of PAUSD bullying policies and proposals. Obviously, you put a lot of time and thought into educating us in a clear,  caring and eye-level way.
Having written the above about your analysis, I listed the reasons that had me conclude that, unfortunately, you were wasting your time.  I listed my reasons on your blog (link #1), and on my blog (link #2).
I do not know what the current state of the PAUSD Bullying Policies is.
Thinking about the Hippocratic Oath that medical doctors take, I wondered if there was something similar for educators.  I found the California Teacher Association Code of Ethics (link #3). Within this, I believe we have the fundamental basis for bullying polices and best practices.
.
Preamble:
“The educator, believing in the worth and dignity of each human being, recognizes the supreme importance of the pursuit of truth, devotion to excellence, and the nurture of democratic principles. Essential to these goals is the protection of freedom to learn and to teach and the guarantee of equal educational opportunity for all. The educator accepts the responsibility to adhere to the highest ethical standards. The educator recognizes the magnitude of the responsibility inherent in the teaching process….”
.
It seems to me that this code says it all. Covers it all.
.
I think it would make sense to expect all school and district officials and PAUSD board members to conform to this code.
What say you?
.
While I do realize that this ethical code may not  be  sufficient, legally,  I am  very curious to know your insight as to where, if at all, any of the code of ethics was violated in the cases the OCR checked (the cases that have been made available to the public).
.
I want to think that all would support conforming to this code. Back to basics. It seems to me that there are numerous simple ways to deal with any noncompliance.
.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

