@King families and BusyMom – Would you buy a used car from them?

@Edmund Burke – Thank you for your very detailed response (link #1).

The bottom line seems to be  that we do agree regarding these policies.  You concluded that the policies that were drafted by PAUSD were not reasonable for all the legal reasons you so nicely articulated. In this case I got to the same bottom line  as you did for very different reasons, while armed with none of your legal knowledge. I happen to believe that I cannot trust policies that are drafted by an organization which consistently refuses to bear some accountability and transparency.

On June 14 the Weekly published several articles related to the issues being discussed now. One thread was titled:  “In-depth report: How a federal inquiry is changing the way schools respond to bullying” (link #6). I had no way to express my astonishment.  Only later we learned that the principal was to move etc. I ended my comment saying that  “… I think of the Federal investigation as the first, alarming lab result. Transparency and accountability will be the first signs of change. I must be missing something.”

I think that the fact that PAUSD failed to promptly  let the public know of the current CDE  investigation is yet more evidence that nothing has changed, even given the OCR settlements etc.  I am asking myself – would the Kings families (whom I addressed here (link #2)), or BusyMom (to whom you responded here (link #3)) buy a used car from PAUSD?  The Kings families and BusyMom are just a tiny sampling  of very different situations.  It seems to me that many  who need to rely on PAUSD for the well being of their kids have lost trust.

On the same day, June 14,   I responded to a thread  dealing with the possibility of PAUSD having an Ombudsman (link #5). I wrote, asking:

As to the ombudsman – Will it be a paid potion? if so – who will pay? PAUSD? Salary, health, retirement? To who the ombudsman will report? 
I can not see how an ombudsman can be independent if it will be a paid position, and salary and benefits will be coming out of PAUSD budget, or controlled by PAUSD officials.

The following is copied from – (Web Link), ombudsman in organization:


Will the ombudsman report to PAUSD Board? Superintendent?

My responses back in June apply to any suggestion that has PAUSD monitoring itself. Sadly, since nothing seemed to have changed, I do not know if the Kings families would trust PAUSD to check a UCP.  You remarked on the consistent refusal to enable more transparency, and to bear some accountability. I believe that given all we know, PAUSD can not be trusted to supervise itself for any correction needed. It seems to me that the past shows us  that what we know is possibly only the tip of the iceberg, mentioned in the editorial accompanying the story of the OCR in PAUSD.

.

Link #1 –  http://www.paloaltoonline.com/blogs/p/2013/11/21/palo-altos-new-two-tiered-bullying-policy-will-kids-fall-through-the-cracks-part-2

Link #2  – http://villagefoolopenboard.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/dear-king-families-and-backward-processes/

Link #3 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/square/2013/11/06/new-school-district-bullying-policies-given-green-light-by-feds-and-state

Link #4 – http://paloaltoonline.com/square/index.php?i=3&d=ytnfxaascaccvc&t=21151

Link #5 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/square/2013/06/14/christina-schmidt-and-mary-vincent-volunteering-to-be-part-of-the-solution-

Link #6 – http://www.paloaltoonline.com/news/2013/06/14/in-depth-report-out-of-the-shadows

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

